Burl Bandits

OTGBOSTON

punk in drublic
http://www.bostonglobe.com/metro/20...-from-trees/u534FdGcrbBcFq6DmXBpIN/story.html

Last spring I started to notice burls missing from trees in our park system. At first I didn't think anything of it, I figured it was the work of wood turner looking for stock. As the summer went on I started seeing it everywhere, then I got calls from tree wardens in surrounding towns. I alerted my boss' to the situation and we issued a press release to make the public aware of what was going on. The newspaper did a story on it that came out Wednesday morning, by 9:30 I had found one of the guys in a park with a chainsaw (after getting a call from a consulting arborist/friend who was monitoring our elm beetle traps). By 10:30 two bad guys were in handcuffs!

Greg, not bad at all. I can't imagine them thinking that they could get away with it for very long. A chainsaw isn't exactly a stealthy device. Being a woodworker, I can minutely sympathize with the crooks. I would have spray painted the cut off burl faces to match the bark, then it wouldn't be so noticeable. :/:

Jay, don't do it!!! I see you being tempted by the dark side. Understanding the dark psyche is the beginning of temptation by the Dark.

Stay with us, boy!:lol:

I hear that around here, for poaching 'music wood', figured bigleaf maple, mostly, that people have muffler hoses run in to buckets of water.

I would like to see a "muffler hose" ran into water!

I bet those burl bastids leave big nasty wounds on mature trees, ugh.

Guess they havent seen the newer lithium battery powered chainsaws.

That is an interesting point, Gary, and one to watch out for. If you used to read the old superhero comics, there were issues where the fighters for justice couldn't resist the temptation themselves to have a fling on the other side. I think it could be within us all a little, except perhaps the folks at Dot Palm Landscaping.