Stihl HP Mix Oil

bonner1040

Nick from Ohio
Is there anything to the expensive stuff?

Seems like Stihl thinks so, they double the warranty on saws if you buy a 6 pack w/ saw purchase. The 6 month on my 460 doubled to a year and the 1 year on the 200t doubled to two years. The dealer said "You wont be using this to make money right? So you get a double a warranty?" I was like "damn right I'm not, just piddling around the house". He smiled and said "Perfect!".

In any event it would appear that they believe it helps, or they are sure nothing will happen to the engines in 1-2 years.. One or the other.

I dont know much about engines and 2 cycle oil and such. Suffice it to say I know it needs it but not why. Any thoughts on whether this stuff is worth the extra cost? It is about $4-5 more per 6 pack I think.

Whatcha think?

Warranty: http://www.stihlusa.com/lubricants/engine-oil-double-warranty.html

Last edited:
I've been running Stihl full synthetic mix in all my saws for about 4 yrs now and I never had a issue with it. I seem to breath easier too now. Its pricey though and for over 30 yrs I ran the older Stihl non synthetic and never had a problem with it either. My 20 yr old 066 ran the older mix for 16 yrs and still today never had the cylinder off.
If you care about your lungs I think the new full syn for the extra money would be the good choice.

I've cleaned up many mufflers on 200T's that were run on regular Stihl (orange bottle) oil. Over time a very thick tar-like buildup fills the muffler choking off the exhaust flow. And don't even think about using a spark arrester screen on the muffler. I've been running Stihl synthetic (white bottle) combined with premium gas for several years now and have had zero fuel related issues. My saws don't 'wear out' either, they keep running for years and years. I'm still running the piss out of the 346xp that Dan Henry ported for me about 12 years ago and it still amazes people who see it run.