New to the tree house

Elliott Lifton

TreeHouser
Hi all,

Just want to introduce myself, I am new to the Tree House. I have been climbing for almost a year now and I love it. Every day its turning into more of a passion than just a job and I am eager to learn as much as possible. So far I have been using equipment provided by my employer, which is all pretty old and beat, and I am just now prepared to begin purchasing all my own gear. I guess you could say I am looking for any input on gear...right now I have a fixed ring saddle and heavy steel spurs with the rigid climber pads. I am looking to upgrade to a harness with a floating ring and aluminum spurs. I have done some research towards the Tree Austria 3.1 harness and Climb Right aluminum spurs with the ultra light velcro pads. What do you guys think?

Cheers!

Welcome to the TreeHouse, Elliott! Are you a gearhead, or more of an old school type of climber? I'm of the latter...

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I am not much of gear head right now. I have been taught the old school way and know that you can get anything done that way. Right now I'm belt, spurs, two fliplines and a 150' 1/2" climbing line (which I use the Blakes Hitch on). I would like to start using the french prusik with micro pulley instead. Basically I am looking for more comfortable equipment with one or two gear additions to make life easier and speed things up a bit. What do you think?

Are you located stateside or elsewhere, Elliott? Makes a difference on gear acquisition, to some degree.

Welcome.

Thanks Burnham! I live on Vancouver Island, B.C. Canada. A lot of big tall conifers and big wide deciduous. Id say 70% of my job is in fir, cedar or spruce. But we also get into maples, poplars, alders, arbutus, oaks... I find myself swinging to adjacent trees quite often.

I know your environment well. I am in NW Oregon, west side of the Cascades :).