Winches

Page

TreeHouser
any mechanics out there? I have a old edger from my landscaping days that has always sucked as an edger, but might be useful as something else. thinking of using the motor to rig up some kind of winch. anyone out there made a winch before? any tips would be great as I have no experience with this.

Yeah I'm a junk yard dawg of sorts .If you had enough gear reduction you could run a winch from a model airplane engine .It's a just factor of gearing .

I'm not so certain an edger engine would be the best choice though .

The "Lewis " type of portable winchs have been around almost forever but they usually employ a 70-80 cc chainsaw engine which would have much more power .

My father used a starter motor from an automobile along with a triple reduction chain drive and a cable drum made from 6" pipe that did a wonderfull job .It would pull that Jeep CJ5 I now own right up into a tree if he wanted it to .

Next time I go to my shop I'll get a picture of it .

Now on second thought perhaps a method .Triple reduction boat winchs are not that costly .It would be possible to incorperate belt drive with a tightener or simply just a tilting method to engage the power in place of the hand crank which could be made to be removable .The rachet mechanism would still be in place preventing back slip if it got away from you .

When I built my shop I had to lift sheet metal panals of roofing material which weighted 175 pounds .I did it with a home spun davit made of 21/2" pipe and a boat winch powered by a Milwaukie drill .

I've had all kinds of junk laying around hoping to design a better winch but ended up doing early spring cleaning and gave it all away.
The only trouble with mounting a power drive in the handle socket of a marine capstan winch is your left with poor access to the spool with the rope. I've priced out the Harkin capstan marine hydraulic winchs and just the winch with under belly motor start at $6,000.