Chipper 101

lxskllr

Treehouser
I'm gonna use this thread as a dumping ground for questions. There's probably gonna be a lot of them, especially pertaining to the hydraulic system. I have zero experience in that regard.

I picked up the chipper today. Everything looks pretty good. It looks like it was well cared for. Grease oozing out of the fittings. Hydraulic filter was installed Oct 2022. Engine oil was dark amber. Knives looked decent. The sides not in use are ready to go. The in use side has a few nicks, but looks ok. I wouldn't be too upset taking a machete of that sharpness out on a boundary, but I'd touch it up if I had the time. I need to review the manual on checking knife clearance and anvil adjustment.

Questions:

This is what the hydro fluid looks like. See any issues?

IMG_20231208_133104627.jpg

What kind of fluid is good for these things, and when I change it, where does the old fluid go? I'd prefer not stockpiling old fluid around. Can it be recycled?

Is a hydro gauge something I should really be on top of? Is a ~$25 amazon gauge sufficient?

How do knives get sharpened? Machine shop? I figure I'll get a brand new set of knives, then cycle them in and out of service as they need sharpening.

Fuel... It has a 7G gasoline tank feeding a 27hp Kubota. What kind of consumption should I expect? I'm contemplating filling the tank with corn free gas since it likely won't be going out every day, but that requires a decent hike to get it(~15 miles from the office). Does that make sense, and is it sustainable? I'd be buying 10G-15G at a time.

Trailer security... It's currently behind the boss' house, but when it goes live, it'll be in an unsecured area. What can I do to sufficiently slow down thieves? Any security can be defeated with enough time and energy. What's a good system to make it not worth screwing with, and preferably isn't a huge hassle to use?

I think that's it for now, but I'm sure there'll be plenty more questions.