Butt tying or....?

woodworkingboy

TreeHouser
Looking at this upcoming job....

I have the option to crane the tree out if I want, but I would prefer to fall it where it stands. Some back lean that I will overcome with a two ton endless line puller, my major thought is the temple's stone entrance that stands close to the tree. I am concerned about the tree possibly kicking back into it when it falls. Damage would be a serious consequence to the hundreds of years old stone work. Aside from leaving stump shot, I have no experience at immobilizing a butt after the tree strikes the ground. As the vid shows, there are other trees to anchor to, both behind the tree to be removed, and also slightly forward and to the opposite side of the stone arch. If there are any thoughts or suggestions, they are much appreciated. I did a little tour of the area, Bodean inspired :), before getting to the tree, hope that you like it. Sorry about the somewhat shaky camera operation.

The tree to be removed is the one closest to the entrance stone pillar.

Thank you.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/bB0M8CPDV3M" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

What, it's still standing? Just do like you said you were gonna do, and be sure to tie those trunks together to keep the butt from moving much.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thanks, Terri!

As simple as that, tie or chain it to the one behind.... A tree falls ok when directly chained to another? I've tied off many trees for crane pics, but never when falling. Having a hard time visualizing. Maybe making too much of it. If the stone was damaged, I'd be in trouble, ha!

With MB's advice, I'm thinking that you need just the right amount of slack in the tie off...? The vid has sound, but it is low volume.