Stove Top Fans

Adam_P

TreeHouse WebMaster
Anyone ever have one of these?

stovefan.jpeg

I read reviews everywhere and they seem to overwhelmingly positive, but I don't know anyone who's actually used one. I'm wasting some heat for sure having a woodstove half inside my fireplace. It's a Jotul 3 catalytic I brought back to life after rotting outside some old dudes garage for 5 or 6 years with the top off.

0AEA5538-57BA-40A9-A65C-024889832C04-12297-000010A92311862B_zpsba4f2644.jpg

The pic is kinda deceiving. The stove is half in half out. I ordered one of those fans that says it does 175cfm @ 650 deg. My stove top is usually in the 400-450 range so I'm hoping for maybe 100-120cfm, which is double that little electric fan you see on the right.

Any feedback on the fans or suggestions on how to get some more heat out of that thing? This is my first year with my own stove. I grew up with wood but our stove was in the open growing up and my only real responsibility was to keep feeding it.

I had one that I used with my propane heater. They work but don't expect that they will move a ton of air just a gentile breez. The nice thing is that they don't need power to work.

I got one for Christmas......it does not move much air. But it's a good conversation starter, and I got it from my mother in law so I better use it.......doh!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I got one for Christmas......it does not move much air. But it's a good conversation starter, and I got it from my mother in law so I better use it.......doh!

I have one coming as a late xmas gift too. I guess we'll see how it goes!

I do have an ash door and that's actually an awesome idea... I could put a cold air return from the kitchen with a 300cfm booster in it... just gotta figure out how to duct it up there without doing major demo.

I always wanted one for the cool factor, though not practical.