Canola and chain brake function

emr

Cheesehead Treehouser
So this started on Facebook but several members here were involved in the conversation. I figured I'd share my photos here because I'm less likely to be ripped apart there than in Facebook..... I have been using canola oil as bar oil for the past several years without any real ware and tear issues that I've noticed. The topic of chain brake functionality came up and I tested our saw out by drop testing the inertia chain brake..... It failed. So I thought I would give the saw a fairly through cleaning. Here are some pics..... The drop test after cleaning worked just fine.
abe2f5bb619d2c61a78efcda2ccad2c6.jpg
747ddd88ed7731ef9d01c4b38a4c29f3.jpg
bbeb3860016e941998940ad877af0e35.jpg
dd33f8129e27c560fe1fb6622fb0d31f.jpg

Thoughts and opinions are definitely welcome. I'm currently rethinking my use of canola, fwiw.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Canola..... At least for the past few years. This year we switched back to winter weight bar oil

You aren't testing the scenario you think you are, I don't think.

If you compared a dirty canola saw to the same dirty petro saw, and saw a difference, it would be different, and comparable.

I don't run my saws from Dec to March as my tree service is shut down then.
But during tree season I do run canola in my main saws, in the ones that sit the most it's petroleum bar oil.
Here's the best protectant for chain brake mechanisms from gumming up with continued canola use. This stuff doesn't evaporate.

Attachments

• 20160223_195918.jpg
    20160223_195918.jpg
    179.2 KB · Views: 79
You aren't testing the scenario you think you are, I don't think.

If you compared a dirty canola saw to the same dirty petro saw, and saw a difference, it would be different, and comparable.
What the heck did you just say??? Hahaha

Really? We tried bio oil and had a lot of trouble with gelling during the winter.