Anybody use Marvin poles?

rumination

Migratory Hippie Arbolist
I've always used Jameson poles wherever I've worked and been really happy with them. However, now that I'm in equipment buying mode for myself I'm trying to economize. The best looking (cheapest) polesaw/pruner head combo I can find is at Bailey's (http://www.baileysonline.com/itemdetail.asp?item=FM PKG9B) but I've never used Marvin stuff before.

Anybody have any experience with Marvin's products. Are they comparable to the durability of the Jameson poles? Or should I just suck up the cost and order Jameson?

I've got a couple Marvin poles , I don't see any difference between the Yellow Jameson and the Orange Marvin.

The green Jameson are like fishing poles.

I've got the Marvin pruner head and saw head, seems A-OK to me.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thanks Brendon, that's what I wanted to hear. Do the Marvin and Jameson poles interface with each other?

Sweet, one fat order to Bailey's coming up...including some chains for the brand new 200T I will buying as soon as I get to New Mexico. :D

I think I will avoid running over these poles....don't want to cry a second time after all.

Leon, if you can find someone who sells them, the fixed length fiberglass poles are far superior to the sectioned poles. I have a 10' with a Marvin head and a 12' with a Corona Bull Lopper head. No one will ship the full length poles cheaply but if you can find them in a store they are cheap.

Leon! Good to read you. DO NOT BUY MARVIN poles. The poles themselves are fine but the ferrules are made from a softer aluminum alloy. I experienced far more galling problems and much faster wear at the locking recesses with Marvin poles and eventually wound up replacing all the ferrules with Jameson ferrules. It turned into false economy.

Great to see you back, leon.

The sectional poles really don't last.
i don't know, i never liked them.

i have a 12' polesaw
and a 14' corona big bite.

welcome back!