A big tree fell in Pennsylvania

Wow, very sad. 1682’ that is just amazing.

Have they removed it? Will they try and stand it up? Would the tree live? What do you think, remove or stand it up?

Last edited:
I’m no tree expert but that pavement may have contributed to its demise.

Probably a removal. Maybe they will get a park bench made from its wood if there is any solid wood in there.

That's too bad. The tree looks pretty green in the pic, but it's sheared off at the roots. Natural causes or disease?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I half remember a discussion of if normal insurance pays for removal if it is not on a structure? This would probably be an expensive project!

Looks like quite a well used site. Compaction in conjunction with something like ganoderma are fatal for such a veteran tree.

I presume it was not evident as the remedial root and crown works are not visible.

I half remember a discussion of if normal insurance pays for removal if it is not on a structure? This would probably be an expensive project!
Insurance wouldn’t pay for this. They only pay to remove trees from insured structures or vehicles. Really, they are obligated to make the structure or vehicle whole and in order to do that, the tree must be removed. So, the tree removal is more of a “side effect”

Insurance would if it covered by your policy. You can insure anything as long as you pay them too. Jlo can insure her posterior for a million $ but she is paying for it up front. (git your mind out of the gutter)

The memorial service for one of the first tree men I climbed with/for was held at the West Grove Meetinghouse not far from the London Grove Meetinghouse. So far it’s majestic oak still stands.

Dave Macleod - Treeman

The London Grove oak near Kennett Square was an epic tree.