www.citizensrooted.com

treelooker

Treehouser
While watching the news I heard about two trees, a willow and a dawn redwood, at 1514 and 1516 Brooks Avenue in Raleigh. The trees grew near the electric wires, so the utility claimed the right to remove them. The willow’s owner resisted, and the utility failed to make their case for removal in Superior Court. I visited the site, just up the road from Kilgore Hall at NC State University, where from 1986-1996 I studied tree care under JC Raulston. The owners hired me to prune both trees.
I consulted statutes, standards, and protocols, including those mentioned by the utility, to ensure that my work would comply. References are numbered in superscript and listed in Appendix A. Utilities often cite the NERC standard, so I followed this guidance:
NERC Standard FAC-003-2 Technical Reference…”Methods to Control Vegetation
1.1 The transmission vegetation management program shall specify the methods that
the Transmission Owner may use to control vegetation. ANSI A300, Tree Care Operations — Tree, Shrub, and Other Woody Plant Maintenance – Standard Practices, while not a
requirement of this standard, is considered to be an industry best practice… methods must be applied in a sound biological manner…”

Side Pruning — Prune trees adjacent to the Active Transmission Line Right of Way that have grown to an extent that they have encroached upon or will soon encroach upon the clearances listed in the specification. In cases where specified clearances can not be achieved due to Active Transmission Line Right of Way width restrictions,..remove branches to prevent entry into the Active Transmission Line Right of Way.

ANSI A300 – Best Management Practices for Tree Care Operations
Transmission Owners have the option of adopting the procedures and practices contained in an industry-recognized ANSI Standard known as A300 for use as a central component of its vegetation management program. The following is a description of A300.
Introduction