Fall absorption tether?

flashover604

TreeHouser
Hi all. I've been doing some research into srt and the various devices and hitches that go along with them lately. Since I'm not a professional or even well versed recreational climber, this may be a common knowledge question to you folks. How common is it for you guys to have slack go out of your line? Maybe the rope rolls off of a small knot in the tree or a small branch breaks that you didn't know you were over? I would imagine it wouldn't take TOO far of a drop to hurt once everything stops. I wonder if there would be reason to have a system in place to dissipate this force before it was transferred to the body? I picture a tether between your saddle and the Rope Wrench that is sewn in a way that it rips the stitching in a controlled manner therefore absorbing some of the force?

Maybe there's no need, I don't know. I was just wondering and figured I'd ask the experts!

Thanks in advance!

Zach

Dynamic climbing ropes 'bout eliminate the need for one of those, I imagine.

I fell straight down about 10' w/o any damage to me at all.

I used to climb with a croll and a hand ascender as backup. I did put a shock absorber on that hand ascender after seing what a toothed cam can do to a rope. I was new worried about physical injury though.

Dynamic climbing ropes 'bout eliminate the need for one of those, I imagine.

I fell straight down about 10' w/o any damage to me at all.

Damb. That must have been a scary moment. Most I ever fell was about a foot and a half a couple years ago on velocity, pretty stretchy rope, still gave me whiplash. my neck was sore for a week.

I've never had a straight fall so I don't know. Usually if a twig breaks or line rolls off a nub I'm kinda leaning on the rope and it's a small swing instead of a drop.

Depends on how much rope is in the system. If you are DdRT, you get half the stretch, and half the deceleration roughly.