anyone using spliced hitch cord?

WoodCutr

Treehouser
I spliced up a 32" 10mm beeline e2e a few days ago, seems like a waste of cord, about 2/3 of the cord is much thicker and stiffer than normal

anyone have a use for spliced cords? maybe I will just use it for rigging, IDK yet

I used to have Nick splice mine. Loved it back in my Hitch Climber days. No need for it now with my set ups, and my lanyard is fine with fishermans knots.
Rope wrench set ups benefit from them.

Welcome! I'm just a hobbyist, but I like knots. Allows you to make small adjustments in length. I also can't splice, so there's that. Good splices are lovely to look at, and make a nice trim setup though.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
im trying to find a hitch that actually works with it, the ends are so stiff that hitches just jam up

I have started using my retired hitch cords to install a fake Alpine butterfly in a transport tightening system.. some call it a z rig. When I want to do a tightening system I would always tie a butterfly and then put a carabiner in it and run the pull line back through the carabiner to tighten the load line. I started taking leftover hitches that I had retired but didn't throw away ... eye-eye hitches and instead of tying a butterfly, I wrap the hitches into a prussic and I can adjust it wherever I might need the Alpine butterfly. It's quick, easy, and gets good use out of hitches that I don't use for life support anymore. Makes sense?