What is this guy using for his safety rope setup?

Chafe sleeve is to keep your rope from grinding against the tree, ingesting grit, and potentially damaging the tree. It protects the rope and tree from the friction generated in a Double Rope system. I like the leather ones.

...Trying to see what he's using for his second safety rope and rope grab - as opposed to the flipline. Unfortunately they don't go into any explanation. There are fairly clear shots of the hardware at about 6:05 and 14:12.

I'm not sure which brand, but he's using hand ascender. I'm not very experienced, but that would not be something I would use. All you can do to let rope out is take the weight off of it and release it. No way to gently let rope out with your weight on it.

You'd be much better off with a simple self tending pulley and hitch setup.

My inexpensive version...

View attachment 56331

...and the pricey version...http://www.treestuff.com/store/catalog.asp?category_id=296&item=1822#

So this does essentially the same thing as a Hitch Climber?

Is the chafe sleeve to protect the static/fixed end of the line from the pulley and friction hitch rubbing against it?

Is there any inherent superiority of a spliced end vs a knotted end as you have here?

I think of the Hitch Climber as a climbing system which you can use to advance and descend from ground to tie in point.

The white rope in the video was being used as what I would consider to be a long adjustable length lanyard for positioning and as second tie in point. As he had it set up with a hand ascender, there would be no way to use it alone (without the spikes) to make short moves up or down.