Poison Ivy eye splice

maggies dad

TreeHouser
Ok boys and girls, I am going to try and learn how to splice some Poison Ivy. I need a tight eye splice, and no I have never done it before. So I am open to any and all insight and direction.
First off, What fids ect do yall like. I dont want to break the bank, but if I can figure this out this wont be my last splicing work so I dont want junk.
So lay it on me guys, what ya got???

You wanna start with a wire fid. Piano wire, a coat hanger....any smooth stiff wire will work. Just fold it in half and wrap the pokey ends around a dowel or a carabiner. Then you're in business.

The only other specialized thing you'll need is stout needle and something to work as stitching twine. Everything else is stuff you have around the house or can get at the hardware store: sharpie, measuring tape, masking tape.

Once you have all your tools, report back and we'll get you started on the directions.

lifted this pic off the buzz...

165280-fid1.jpg

I thought someone had made a youtube vid on the ins-n-outs of making a wire fid. Can't seem to find it.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Ok, easy enough. Thanks! It will be tomorrow before I can start cause I am at work and they wont give us a break. Ill be back!

Ok, so here are a few questions, # 1 how long is a fid length. If you watch a splicing video all measurements are done by fid length. I have a homemade fid, so I do not really know what length my measurements should be.# 2 Is Poison Ivy done with a class 1 splice? What makes it a class 1 splice? Is there a difference between the splice done for say a 12, and 24 strand rope? If these are silly questions I am sorry, I am just new to this.:D
Thanks
Jeff

Don't worry about asking silly questions Jeff!