Rope Wrench Alternative??

bonner1040

Nick from Ohio
I have never used the Rope Wrench before. Lets just get that out in the open. I have also never tried what I am thinking here so i could be totally wrong, and i am not saying this would work. But it kind of seems like it would. It also seems like it would be similar to the F8 Revolver setup, which again i never tried.

Anyway, does anyone think that this might work similary to the WR?

mammut-smart3.jpg

I am thinking it could be used in a similar capacity. I might be crazy, and you might have to turn it upside down but @ $30 USD ( http://www.backcountry.com/mammut-smart-belay-device ) it seems like a good deal. I rock climb as well so if I buy one and the idea turns out to be hogwash and not work at all at least i wont have wasted my 30 bones.

Thoughts? Experience?

PS i am not taking anything away from the RW, and i know its the best thing since sliced pickles and all and I def do not want an argument. I have read all the RW threads and i understand its many advantages (and i am planning on getting one ultimately to try for myself)...And my hat is off to Mr. Bing for his hard work and innovation. But hey who knows.

Last edited:
I am not sure what that tool is in your pic and your link doesnt make sense for this thread. Can you check on that link and maybe repost?

I think this is what he's getting at. Seems as though it needs to be loaded all the time in order to work. Interesting none-the-less.

<object width="640" height="360"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Rcr30ZMq2WI&hl=de_DE&feature=player_embedded&version=3"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Rcr30ZMq2WI&hl=de_DE&feature=player_embedded&version=3" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="640" height="360"></embed></object>