Tuatahi products?

flushcut

TreeHouser
Anybody uses their stuff? Their axes and crosscut saw look amazing. Same with the price! But fine tools come at a cost.

Those axes look amazing! This is my first time seeing Tuatahi but I wouldn't hesitate to buy an axe from them, just going off of the pictures on their website. Those axes look deadly!!!

Australia and new Zealand are world renowned for there axemenship. Thats also new zeland money 500 of there dollars equals 344.68 of our dollars. If you look around a premium axe is going to cost you at least $250 so an axe that looks of that caliber easily. Plus you look for axes on esty or what ever it's called there are tons of axes for more than than .

Out of all of them I would rather have a Tuatahi

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
The crosscut saws really have my eye. I figure if the world really goes to hell I might as well have a good one going in. The work saws not the racing ones.

If you want to search around a bit you can still find a vintage crosscut saw. Try to get one that is crescent taper ground. Sharpening is an art and best left to the experts. The last one I had sharpened was around $10/ft.

What is the benefit of a cross cut axe? Is it just lighter or does it cut different?tried googling my question and didn’t find a direct answer

I tried to set the teeth in my crosscut with a pair of pliers, and broke a tooth off. Decided I didn't know what I was doing, and put it away. I'll need a tooth setter if I revisit it.

Perhaps the long teeth (like a garden saw) with just the very tip hardened can be bent, but the short ones will break. I tried that too to get a little more life on a slightly dull hardware store saw. Just "tac", maybe "criick" with special extra care but the tooth is already cracked and is ready to fall.