Saddle advice for a new climber.

Jonchitect

Treehouser
Hi All,
I’m new to the tree climbing world and the treehouse. I’ve been looking at buying my own saddle and have concerns re., load capacity.
My questions here are:
A.) how much weight in gear do you typically bring up the tree with you?
B.) Which saddles/sizes do you recommend for a climber who is 200lbs, 6’-2” 34” waist?
For context I was looking at a treemotion saddle on sale for $400, but became concerned by a 260lbs load capacity.
All feedback is welcomed thank you for your replies

Welcome!

I don't know anything, but just to get the conversation going; What kind of climbing are you doing/see yourself doing? Is feeling light and unrestrained important?

For myself, I primarily see myself spur climbing, and doing removals. I'm also old and slow. My saddle is an old school buttstrap saddle with split twin Ds up front. If I were to lose that, I'd probably get the same thing if I couldn't try saddles on in a store. The only change I'd make is possibly going with a webbing bridge. It's comfortable, and I'm very un squirrel-like in the tree. I don't think I'd benefit from a lightweight 'wearing nothing' saddle. I'm 6'-5"/220# dry. I'd guesstimate I'm 240#-250# kitted out.

Again, I wouldn't take anything I say as advice. Just something to get the ball rolling...

Saddles, it gets real personal ... thus the term PPE. Gerry gives a great overview of types and use in "Fundamentals". Gotta find something you like , I would not worry too much about gear weight as if there is something that heavy you need aloft it can be pulled up on rope once positioned.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Welcome!

I don't know anything, but just to get the conversation going; What kind of climbing are you doing/see yourself doing? Is feeling light and unrestrained important?