pulley/rack

surveyor

TreeHouser
Hello all, first post here. I am not a climber, my profession is a registered Land Surveyor here in NC, but I love making various climbing gear and have also made a device called a Bulldog OAR (see youtube). I had this pulley rack at the Charlotte competition, and Paul was kind enough to give it a go low and slow. I am excited about Paul's Hitch Hiker device also. The pulley rack I brought to the comp. was a bit longer than the one pictured here. I find that this more compact length works well also, on a single or doubled line.. You can find a video of the longer pulley/rack in action, made by an arborist online friend (Thanks Tony), on youtube entitled "pulley-rack review".

Gordon Svedberg

002-2.jpg

Welcome Gordon. I saw that Casey S. from here in WI had one of those. Looks pretty sweet. Glad you started posting here.

Very interesting. This is a great time in history to be tree climber, stuff is changing so fast. The spirit of invention is alive and well in the tree climber community.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thanks, Yes Casey has another device called the Dogbone or Dogleg. I have loaned it to him for awhile. It is based on Kevin's RW concept. It sounds like it will be traveling to Cary for awhile also. here is a picture of the first and second models.
102_1391.jpg
001-3.jpg

I see you are looking twixt the two designs on the market. Good for
You.Wwe often look to the radical or extreme for a solution as opposed road comfortable & functional middle ground

Using a Tibloc (with the teeth ground off and smooth inside!) and adding a roller chain link for the hitch attachment, I made this tiny hitch hiker. The roller link pin forces the rope to take a small bend through the Tibloc, when weighted.

001-5.jpg