Paul Poynter aka WoodenHand. Webinar on two rope climbing posted on Educated Climber yesterday

Eric H-L

Treehouser
Thought some might be interested. I was. It’s a long video and I am just getting started. Paul is talking about using two climbing lines throughout the work climb, not because it’s mandated in UK— but because it makes sense for him. The part that got me interested was something that Lawrence Schultz said in his video series, The Schultz Effect: he said that he thinks of climbing like rigging your own body. Paul echoed this idea. Then Paul discussed one of the advantages to two ropes (and two climbing devices) is you can move from one side of the tree to the other while suspended. It clicked for me since I had just been reading up on span rigging.

I find the fly in the ointment to be either having to set two lines in two quite separate tips, or two adjacent trees, or when you want that nice triangulation you can't throw downward from a really great central high tip to the second tip because the second tip is equally as high as your primary tip. Enter throw line tricks, telescoping retriever poles or my favourite work your way out the second leader in bigger bites by using a deadwood branch as an in tree disposable DRT long lanyard rope end retriever. I'm talking prunes because if a removal just walk/spur your way up.

In the tree verse video he had an ideal low risk geometry with low forces. At times a hook is like temporary upward outward access , perhaps I recall Moss going over that topic before.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter