Hassled while climbing in public the other day

B Diggedy

It is what it is..
What's up guys, thought i'd share a story about my last climb.

Backstory:

To begin, I have a little over 10+ climbs under my belt at the moment. I'm self taught(Tree Climbers Companion), running a Cougar saddle and a basic/minimalist srt and ddrt system. Usually I go to a park up the hill from my house that has a bunch of Oak trees. The trees aren't very tall(low and slow), but appear healthy and structurally sound(from my internet education experience). At this spot I've had no problems with anyone bothering me while climbing aside from a couple old ladies coming up and passively interrogating me while wearing a fake smile. This has happened here and at another (more public) spot by a lady on a segway. Both of which I wrote off as a typical case of "I find this unusual therefore you must be up to no good..". In these instances I took the professional route and explained what i way doing while being friendly, and they went about their biz.
Being bored with the same tree(s), i decided to venture out and find something a bit taller and more spread out so i can work on limb walking and get more comfortable with heights. As it turns out, all the best trees are in the more visible areas in town. So i'm riding around and i find this Cypress tree at another park near an intersection in a busy area of town. There was no reason for foot traffic under this tree unless the person wanted to talk to me, so it was safe in that regard. Though it was very visible from a busy intersection. Ive already researched the laws for my area and the only laws that seems to exist concerning trees is that a permit is required to remove one, so "technically" im legit. Good enough for me.