West Coast RV rental

Thor's Hammer

Wolfish. Sometimes Bites.
Hey everybody... Been thinking about flying into San Francisco and driving out to Reno for burning man.

Can anybody advise where to hire an RV and what sort of rates we'd pay for 3 week or a month?

Any help appreciated

Hey Ed! Unfortunately, I have no experience in RV rentals, but something tells me if it's anywhere close to the BM event it won't be cheap!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Hey Butch, thats what we thought, hence the idea of renting in SF and driving out to the desert, rather than hiring one local

Hi Ed.
Good to "see" you.

If you want to go in a style that fits Burning man, I'd suggest you rent a VW camper from these guys: https://californiacampers.com/

The are down in Redwood city, a short cab drive from SF airport.

Good guys, I've rented from them.

The campers are oldish, of course, but clean and in fine shape.
And sooo much more fun to drive around in that those huge motorhomes.

Thanks Stig, great to see you again. I'll look up what you linked - might not be suitable for 4 of us though...

Simple solution: Get 2 campers.

But no, you are right, one wouldn't be.

It would seem that getting an RV in portland and driving down is much cheaper than SF
Still looking at 1000 bucks a week hire

Not cheap by a long shot anywhere, as I have seen it. One might almost consider buying used for your trip, then selling afterwards...if you could find a local "agent" to handle the business end for you, it might be almost free.

Ed, see a lot of Jucy Rentals, but I think they are smaller. Cruise America also. They have bigger.
You could shop closer to the event, like Bakersfield or something. Maybe take a rental car to where you rent the RV. Rental cars run pretty reasonable and other areas might have a better offering.

Good to read you, Ed!
1000$ a week to rent one probably isn’t much more than a good hotel room.

Sounds awesome, Burning Man is on my bucket list 8)