Unpaid Jobs

Bodean

Cali dreamer
Hi All...

I woke up this morning mad about a $500 job that i was subbed out for....stump grinding.
The client said he wasn't paying, and supposedly cut the scope of the prime in half so the prime decides not to pay me...
My deal is with the prime not the client... and the prime is an old irish guy I've been working with for several years....
so it was a cash/verbal deal....
I guess I got tooken.

Anyone never been paid for a job?

Do I just swallow it and walk on?
I believe there is a location on the tax form that shows "losses"

Claim the loss on your taxes. 500.00 might not worth pursuing. You know from experience about court time consumption.
Fire the client.
There has only been a few times I have not been paid by a client. Pissed me off. Blood from a turnip is a waste of time.

Thankfully, it's only happened to me a few times in over 30 years in business. I've just written them off as a loss at tax time. None of them have ever been large enough to waste time and resources fighting for.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Yeah... The Prime Sean Molloy Concrete is who screwed me...

He was thrilled with $500 for what we did.

The client old 80 yr old dude sat and watched us all day in a chair 3 feet away....
at the end he said... Sean promised me a back hoe to go 4 feet deep... you guys only did 2 feet deep...

I died. haha. Good one.

Then Sean just slowly weaseled out and away for last 6 weeks...

I feel like going John Wayne on him in his own Old Man Irish Bar in front of all his friends....
Silly goose has his address on the internet too.

I imagine you could file a Mechanic's Lien on the property but I've never done that and I don't know the details of filing such a lien. As a business owner, I would pay my subs regardless of whether or not I got paid by the client. That's simply the right thing to do.

Does San Fran make residents responsible for sidewalk repairs? Do you send him work ever? Could you, even if you won't?