Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: introducing the stangle

TreeHouser

Default introducing the stangle

This is a cut I have been using successfully for a few years.. I call it the stangle, a contraction of steep angle...

I first used it on a VERY dead maple, where climbing into the top looked a life threatening... There was a hole next to the tree where the top would fit if I could get it to lay out far enough so the limbs on the backside wouldn't hit me on the way down; then have the top drop like a stone, spearing into the ground similar to the spearing action on a vertical snap cut.

This 20 second video shows the stangle used to take a 25' pine top out, maybe 10-12" diameter... A top this big would have done a lot of damage to the lower white pine limbs (very brittle) on 2 trees if it had been laid out flat, but there was just enough of a hole right between the two trees, to get it to drop with no damage. In this case the bucket was out of reach as I was set up in the backyard and reaching over to the inaccessible side yard.

Since I don't climb anymore It's mostly used to take tops out from the bucket, though occasionally I will use it to shorten up a fall...

The hinge on the stangle cannot be use reliably to control side lean, so the piece either has to have front lean, or use a pull line as in this video...

And the cut can be a little tricky, especially when there is a tight window... I'll write that up is anyone wants to hear some details..

TreeHouse Administrator MasterBlaster's Avatar

I've always called that a spear cut. Now I gotta go back and update my diary!!!

Patron saint of bore-cutters Sponsor stig's Avatar

There is no hinge in the spearcut, at least not how I use it.
    This is pretty neat, if you need to pull the top.

Looks like it works, bad name though, call it the trapdoor or something.
    Iím condescending, that means I talk down to people.

Mick

I like it. Hinges over just enough to keep it all away from you.