In need of some friendly advice.

Lukeastanley

Treehouser
IMG_20180521_192156.jpg IMG_20180520_153642.jpg IMG_20180520_153649.jpg

Hello,
I am a novice in the tree care department but I've been asked to do this job by an older friend of the family. I really want to be able to do the job because he has helped me personally with several repairs on lawn equipment. The mission is just to get this broken section on the ground and cut into 6 foot logs. I have an idea of using his tractor with a chain and performing a large snap cut up a few feet past the break (followed by attachment of the chain), then tackling the rest when it is all on the ground. Any friendly advice from seasoned tree professionals on how to get the large section onto the ground safely with minimal equipment is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Luke S.

Start walking it up from the tips, you'll reach a point where everything is suspended, and can then use the tractor to piece out the rest. Cut small and often, and mind the tension in those grounded leads.

Hi, Luke. Welcome!

As Sam pointed out, your initial work plan was in reverse order. If you plan to do this sort of stuff more than once, you owe it to yourself to get a copy of Jeff Jepson's To Fell A Tree. Here's a shot of page 117. Good luck!

IMG_20180521_200041.jpg

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Wow, thank you both for the prompt and sound advice. It is greatly appreciated and will make this job much safer for me now. I definitely will check out this book and others by Jeff Jepson. Thanks again!!!! :D

I’m no tree man Luke but like Sam said, be VERY mindful of tension. The one you think won’t get you will get you.

Splintered wood traps bars/ chains. Cut away from splits and splinters.

Storm damaged trees are DANGEROUS. Slow, small, steady. take breaks and think. Clear out the footing.