What Is Your Weakness?

HBP

TreeHouser
Maybe weakness isn't the right word, but what are some of the things you all have trouble with, and how you worked through it.

I have been doing residential tree work at big green for 6 months now. I can honestly say that I enjoy tree work and my job. I try to learn as much as I can and absorb knowledge from everyone I work with. I have been doing a lot of pruning and some removals and feel like I am pretty comfortable and capable in a tree on most days. But when I am in spurs, on a skinny leaning spar, above my tie in I CAN NOT get comfortable at all. I manage to work through it, but Im super tense and nervous the whole time. On a vertical spar with some girth to it I'm great, no issues there, but once i get the brush roped off and its time to remove my tie in i get shaky. Its like a security blanket for me. Just wondering if you all had any insight, tips, or old guy knowledge to help me not seem like such a wimp at work.

Thanks gang.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Its usually in a forked tree, tied in to one side and spurred in to the other one to remove it. Then i have the same problem when it's time to remove the top and just tie in to the spar.
Just cant get comfy

Think through the system or safeties that are in place and identify what is bugging you. Do you choke your climb line off to the stem as a second TIP when throwing the top or passing your TIP?

For me if I can look at the technique/system that I'm using and think ya I'm safe then I know the fear is irrational and can put it aside.