Buy Out/ Business Valuation (aka fun fun fun)

carver

TreeHouser
I'm considering buying the company that I've been working for for the past 5 years or so, and in doing so I've realized I have NO IDEA how to evaluate what a company is worth. The company is fairly small - 4 employees including me, a bucket truck, chipper, dump truck w/ 20 ft crane, chipper - with a pretty awesome reputation in the area and enough work to reliably keep the crew going + a bit if I wanted to expand - they've been around since the 70's and they're just plain good to people/their customers. The difficulties are: most of the equipment is fairly old and will definitely have to be replaced in the very near future and the company is still using the techniques of the 70's - which is to say that customers (and the other employees) will expect that I spike up their trees, flush cut, top, etc etc. (which I obviously don't want to do!)

So... any advice out there on pricing an entire company? I've heard that one years gross is a common yardstick for this sort of thing, but I don't know if that's true, and I don't know how to factor in equipment replacement and such even if it is true...

Thanks!!!!

Carver,

There are many ways of going about this, but to be fair to everyone involved it's usually best to have a professional appraiser set the starting point. Since the owner knows you, and you seem to have a good working relationship with him, the final selling price may likely end up being adjusted in your favor. In the end, nobody feels cheated. This is always a good way to start out with your own business. You know what the business is worth when you buy it......and the seller has the opportunity to adjust the price in your favor, as he pleases.

Joel

How much client base will you lose to the 'other guys' doing dark age tree 'care', when you tell the customers that you will have to charge more than they're used to, in order to do the work properly.