strange juice??? from a little Sophora

Koala

TreeHouser
This is a a little tree I've been pruning since a few years now. It's a Sophora Japonica pendula, maybe 15 years old . Mostly deadwooding and light pruning. This year winter has been very long and more dead branches than usual. What is strange I noticed a sort of juice , but not very liquid, tacky and a little smelly too. Colour is orange, pretty dark. It is not comin out from the cuts, but from the main biggest branches. Got the chance to go back there this week, and with the growing moon it is comin out much much more. Unfortunately I got only my cell phone with me, so quality of the pics is not that good.....any idea???

2.JPG

5.JPG

1.JPG

4.JPG

3.JPG

Don't lick it up if you are pregnant.
It is one of those old folk remedies used to induce abortion.

I don't know how to tell if a Koala is pregnant or not, so I thought I'd better warn you!;)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Don't lick it up if you are pregnant.
It is one of those old folk remedies used to induce abortion.

I don't know how to tell if a Koala is pregnant or not, so I thought I'd better warn you!;)

Oppsss...too late....I am a curious one.....should have told me before :lol:

Anyway I'm a male Koala...so no problem ;) ...... nice to meet you Stig. I'm Marcello. :beerchug:

Bleagh! Cool looking tree, though.

You should see it in summer... very nice shade . Branches grow till they touch the ground . Older trees are beautiful in winter, without leaves, just like living sculptures.

What does it smell like? does it put off an odor like rotten fruit?

Can't remember exactly...could remind of something rotting...very intense...and bad for sure

That last picture sure looked like borer damage to me. Did you scrape it away and look for holes?

Not sure if its on the list of hosts for phytopthera ramorum? so called 'sudden oak death'.

I will do some research..