Resistograph

sotc

Dormant hero!!
Been looking into possibly picking up a resistograph. Any of you have first hand experience with one or in depth experience? I would like to hear pros and cons of the device, how it may have helped your business, price structuring etc

I know 3 people who have them, its a service thats tough to sell. Futhermore, the data is difficult to convey to the tree owner, who ultimatley decide how much risk they are willing to tolerate.

Your in America, can ya say "Liability"?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
May be early for one here, may be the right time. Thats a big part of the equation.

The closest one to me hasn't been used on any trees other than ones owned by large cities. I guess what that means is that "Joe homeowner" probably doesn't value the cost of the technology.

Interpretation on the images was an issue when I last looked into one. That was about three years ago. I am a tech weenie, and if the tools have benefit, or can pay for themselves I tend to buy. Hell right now I am getting my a$$ handed to me by the "grass whackers" turned "tree hacker".

If you can "sell" the usefulness of a resistograph go for it! Just be careful about how you convey the info to the client. Tree risk is a thing that can make the best arborist in the world look foolish IF a lawyer gets involved. Funny, all the ones I know of are owned by ASCA members! They luv sittin' in court! (up here anyway)!

If you get one, dont limit yourself to trees, there are lots of wooden things that decay. I know one arborist up here got hired to spec out an old wooden trestle bridge that was slated for renovations, somewhere in the neighborhood of 2500 or more drilling sites on the structure.... another case was a clocktower we had in our condo common area, it was on 8x8 posts and one evening as I passed by I saw a fruiting body on one post, let the manager know and an engineering firm was here within a few days drilling it to check the decay level..