OREGON ARBOROL

PCTREE

Treehouser
Anyone use it? How do you like it? I have been using veg oil for about 4 years and like it OK but it is messy..........

If oil was so bad then the country would have been poisoned beyond human habitation long ago. Do you know how many gallons of oil are used in paving a 100' square area? Think of the billions of gallons of oil dumped on the ground to make pavement and then tell me why I should use veggi oil in my chainsaw? Ridiculous.

me calling someone a terrorist? nope, not at all, just putting some info out there. :) and pulling RJS's chain a lil bit.

Thanks to Google it appears that Arborol is a concentrate that you mix with water to make your bar lube. Sounds like a neat concept except the cost is about 10X the cost of bar oil. You can buy 3.4 oz. (enough to make a little over a pint) for $5. The bigger size they list is only a tiny bit more lube (4.23 oz. to make 1.31 pints) but you get the fancy mixing bottle for ONLY $19. :roll:
http://www.chainsaws-etc.com/arborol_chain_oil.htm

Bailey's is a buck less, only $4 for the 3.4 oz bottle (plus shipping).
http://www.baileysonline.com/itemdetail.asp?item=54060
There are 3,785 ml in a gallon so that means you need about 7.5 of these to make a gallon of bar lube. Still over $30 per gallon.

On the Bailey's link, under the FAQ tab it says that this stuff should be used in temps between freezing and 77 degrees. I guess that means it won't work in Florida 11 months of the year.

I am thinking of going the fifty gallon drum of bar oil route and save the environment by not throwing out so many gallon containers.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter