Cedar Deodora with mushrooms.

stehansen

Climbing Up
This tree was in a neighboring yard where we were working last week. I'm assuming it has a couple of dead roots that are decomposing. The tree looks fine. Is this anything to worry about? The underside of the mushrooms has a kind of rose tint.

Attachments

• aptos 003 (Large).jpg
    aptos 003 (Large).jpg
    192.6 KB · Views: 13
  • aptos 004 (Large).jpg
    aptos 004 (Large).jpg
    128.6 KB · Views: 9
With as much humidity and the rain we had (and how it came over time gentle) there are many fungus that are thriving on the conditions this year... I would more keep and eye on the tree and it's over all health/condition.. Does not look like it is leaning toward the house... Unless I start seeing some serious dead in it.. I would just assess year to year as conditions may change.. But I see what you are... Funny how the shrooms look like they are following a root line. Granted I am no expert.. But I would advise the HO of your observations and ask to keep an eye on the tree...

Don't worry about it. My bet is that the shrooms are from something in the lawn, not growing out of rotten roots.
Those trees do very well in lawn areas.
Just make sure you get a check for the consult :)

When I see stuff like that around here, it's a no-win situation as far as trying to approach a homeowner unsolicited. I wouldn't park my car underneath it. I would assume that there is major root decomposition going on underground due to overwatering (See RangerDanger's work pictures from this past weekend).

If you say something to the homeowner and nothing happens to the tree, then you're an idiot who doesn't know what he's talking about. But if the tree blows over in the next storm, then somehow it's your fault for bringing it up. I no longer try to save every tree. If I'm asked, then it's a hazard. If I'm not asked, then nothing is wrong with it.

But that's your neck of the woods Brian...