eye 2 eye locked brummel

• Thread starter sarthur
  • Start date
  • Replies 21
  • Views 4K
S

sarthur

so im new to splicing and have had great success with my first whoopie sling :D good times!

im looking to have a go at making an eye to eye sling and am a little confused as to how to get the second locked brummel with out having to push the first threw the tail of the second before burrying. is that the only way or is there some trick to it?

any help or tips are greatly appreciated!

That's the way I was taught at the symposium. But they called it an inverted locked brummel.

You can also do a standard brummel on the other end. Just have to remember to sew it.

Great directions for the mobius brummel. Precourt makes GREAT stuff, some of which is great for tree workers, too! I haven't been to their site in a while. I'll add their splicing directions to the collection of splicing directions I have on my website (subtle plug, huh?!).

Sam, the mobius brummel is easy to do, though some people have trouble understanding it. Give it a couple shots and it should work out alright.

Big question is, what rope are you using? If it is a soft rope like Yalex, you might find it easy to just push the whole eye right through the rope. I find this to be faster than the Mobius.

Either will be just fine.

Can we see some pics of your work?!?!

love
nick

You can also do a standard brummel on the other end. Just have to remember to sew it.

RD-I'm not picking on you...but I gotta ask: If you're doing a standard (non locked) splice on one side, why not do it on both? When I see a splice locked on one side, but not the other, it looks to me like someone didn't wanna go the extra inch to make a good sling a great sling.

I am a big fan of the locked brummel and use it whenever possible, which is almost always.

love
nick