In the stone age??

• Thread starter sytherstrike
  • Start date
  • Replies 80
  • Views 9K
S

sytherstrike

Hi all, I thought I'd introduce myself by showing my gear, and telling a little about myself at the same time. First of all, Ive been doing tree work for three years and climbing for about 2. I live in Flint, Mi and started off in a two man boom lift, usually I would grab the branches the other guy would cut and I'd throw it as far as I could. After that I met a good climber, I knew he was good because he made it look easy, and learned everything I could from him. I've never climbed with a lanyard that had a micro descender or used a slit tail false crotch rigging or ever seen a climber in Michigan that has, thus my "In the stone age??" title. For my climb line I've always just done a two half hitches and tided the end with a taunt line, I tried the Blakes hitch twice and had a close call once so I prefer the taunt line. Here is a picture of my gear:
scaled.php

I have a weaver belt that has been cut and restitched because I got fat over the summer. I have bashlin aluminum pole gaffs, thats right pole gaffs, we have alot of dead ash trees around here and the shorter spikes seem to be easier to shimmy up them, I plan on buying some longer spikes once I can afford it. That short rope with the hooks is used as a saw strap for big saws, also a buck strap extension for big trees and to stablize myself for cutting branches when I have to hang myself out from the tree and various other things. I have a very open mind, and enjoy climbing so I figured if I join the tree house and learned some things from you guys, and continue building up my gear, I'll become a more valuable employee and could start asking for more money to get better gear, thats the plan right now anyways. If anyone has any advice tips or tricks they'd be willing to share, I'm willing to listen.

Welcome!

I think its Tautline rather than Taunt line but you may have said it that way in jest. :)