Does the 192T have a muffler screen???

rangerdanger

TreeHouser
I'm curious if it does, and if I removed it, would it improve the performance. I know doing that to a 200T will improve it, but I didn't know if it would on the 192T. I was cutting through some 9 to 12 inch Ash yesterday and it bogged down a few times. So I'm looking to squeeze some more power out of it without doing any porting right now.

Yes it does, every production saw made has one. If you remove the screen, remember to richen the low jet on the carb.

It wasn't a total wash because you often times need just a tad on the low speed also so they idle correctly . Maybe let's just say retune the carb and be done with it .

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Thanks guys. Hopefully I can give it a go this weekend.

Another question though, would do you mean by retuning the carb. Is that just adjusting the idle speed fuel flow screws?? (Sorry, I'm still new to this saw modding business)

Tuning the carb is NOT 'saw modding', it is basic maintenance. If you're going to run two cycle powered equipment for a living then you need to start learning a little about how they work and how to make sure they are running properly. Running a saw with the carb out of tune can result in destroying the motor. Most all of those stories you hear about "The saw just quit running and the motor was seized" are directly attributable to the operator not having a clue how to tune the carb. If your saw doesn't run perfectly, then ignoring it will not fix the problem. Yet so many saw owners do just that.

Here's a real good place to start. Read this page and then bookmark it for future reference.
http://www.madsens1.com/saw carb tune.htm

MB, you don't come across as not tech minded, just start tinkering.

Its pretty basic once you have a general understanding of the process.